Wednesday, 7 September 2016

Class gets three tie-in novels

The Doctor Who universe is about to become even bigger, as BBC Books prepares to publish three tie-in novels expanding the world of Class, the new spin-off series airing from next month on BBC Three.

Created and written by award-winning Young Adult author Patrick Ness, Class is set at Coal Hill School, a location seen in Doctor Who since the very first episode in 1963. Most recently, Coal Hill was where the Doctor's former companion Clara taught. But Class centres on the adventures of an all-new group of students, with dangers breaking through the walls of time and space, and darkness coming to a London unprotected.

BBC Books will publish three novels – Joyride by Guy Adams, The Stone House by A.K. Benedict and What She Does Next Will Astound You by James Goss – that follow Patrick Ness’ vision for the series and build upon its fictional universe. 

“Patrick Ness is simply one of the finest writers working today, in any genre," says Albert DePetrillo, Senior Editorial Director for BBC Books, "and Class has all the hallmarks of his dazzling fiction. Class is a hugely exciting new brand and we’re delighted to be working with Patrick and BBC Wales on these official tie-ins.”

The three novels will be published by BBC Books on 27 October.

With thanks to BBC Books

No comments:

Post a Comment