Wednesday, 23 September 2015

Big Finish updates

Audio drama producer Big Finish has made a number of announcements about upcoming releases from the worlds of Doctor Who.

Torchwood Series 1

All remaining episode titles from the first audio series of Torchwood have been unveiled, along with their key cast members.

January 2016 sees the return of John Barrowman as Captain Jack Harkness in Uncanny Valley. Written by David Llewellyn, the story sees Jack still on his quest to find out more about the mysterious Committee. What is their involvement in the life of a reclusive billionaire?

Then, the first series will conclude in February 2016 with More Than This, written by Guy Adams and starring Eve Myles as Gwen Cooper, placed on a very special mission.

More details on both stories will be revealed soon.

The New Counter-Measures

Launching in July 2016, The New Counter-Measures presents a bold new direction for Big Finish's spin-off series, based on the military organisation originally introduced in the 1988 Doctor Who story Remembrance of the Daleks.

After four box sets' worth of investigations, Counter-Measures Series 4 appeared to bring ICMG's reign to an end with an earth-shattering finale. But the new series will reveal the fate of the organisation, and how it continued into the era of UNIT.

The New Counter-Measures will be led by Sir Toby Kinsella (Hugh Ross), whose elite team of scientists and military specialists defend the world from threats both homegrown and extraterrestrial.

The series will begin with a double-disc feature-length special in July 2016, before returning for another box set of four adventures in December 2016.

Jago & Litefoot Series 11

Finally, Big Finish has confirmed the latest set of adventures for the popular investigators Jago & Litefoot, as portrayed by Christopher Benjamin and Trevor Baxter.

Jago & Litefoot Series 11 sees the detectives confront a menace that will be familiar to Doctor Who fans.

The box set opens with Jago and Son by Nigel Fairs, where Henry Gordon Jago encounters his previously unknown son. Jago Junior is played by UNIT: Extinction star James Joyce, and is joined by Rowena Cooper (The Sarah Jane Adventures) as Jean.

The second story is Maurice by Matthew Sweet, where the detectives meet the famed French composer – but a sinister force is endangering his life. Another historical encounter follows, when Dracula author Bram Stoker joins Jago & Litefoot for Simon Barnard and Paul Morris' The Woman in White – which guest stars Doctor Who legend Edward de Souza as Sir Henry Irving.

The series reaches a climax written by script editor Justin Richards. The title is as yet unrevealed, but the story will see Jago & Litefoot take on the darkest force they've ever faced, with the aid of Ellie Higson (Lisa Bowerman), Inspector Quick (Conrad Asquith) and some emergency reinforcements...

Jago & Litefoot Series 11 will be released in April 2016.

Source: Big Finish
Unearthly on Twitter and Facebook

No comments:

Post a Comment